Day Date Topic Text Exercise  
50 Thurs Nov 15 Radian Measure pg 320 1aceg, 2aceg, 3bc, 4bc, 5, 7ab, 8ab, 9ac, 11, 12, 13
Challenge: 10, 16*

*the answer for 16 should be about 86.81 radians per second
 
51 Fri Nov 16 PD DAY      
52 Mon Nov 19 Radian Measure and Angles on the Plane pg 330 2ab, 3, 5acdf, 6cdef, 7ad, 11, 13, 15, 16  
53 Tues Nov 20 Exploring Graphs of Primary Trigonometric Functions   pg 333
(A – L)

Supplementary Discovery Activity

pg 336
2c, 3, 5
 
54 Wed Nov 21 Transformations of Trigonometric Functions pg 343 1ad, 4bc, 5ac, 6c, 7bc, 8cd , 9, 10, 11, 12, 14a

graph, do not sketch!
 
55 Thurs Nov 22 Homework Takeup and Formative Quiz     Complete any outstanding homework
56 Fri Nov 23 Exploring Graphs of Reciprocal Trigonometric Functions pg 353 1, 2, 3, 7*

* for 7 graph on the interval -2π ≤ x ≤ 2π
Also, graph, not sketches
 
57 Mon Nov 26 Modelling with Trigonometric Functions pg 360 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11%
Challenge: 13

Answers in the text are incorrect. Change them to:
10a) $n(t)=3.7cos(\frac{2\pi}{365}(t-172))+12$
10b) 9.2 hours Also, for #10a change the instruction” from nth” day to “t-th day”
% remember Example 2?
Also, the answer for 11 is incorrect. The “d” value is not 116; it is approx. 102
 
58 Tues Nov 27 Review Day 1   IS YOUR CALCULATOR IN RADIAN MODE?

Enrichment Day
pg 376
1 - 4, 5b, 6, 8, 11d, 12, 13, 14, 16, 19**

a d-value of about 0.3 is acceptable
** sub in $h=\pm 0.01$ immediately
Note final answer corrections:
#6 a) $tan\theta=\pm \frac{12}{5}$   
#6 c) $\theta=2.0\text{ or }4.3$  
#19d) approx. -144

pg  378
Self-Test

Note: do not use a calculator for #2.
In #6 answers may vary.
For #8a, use only a cosine function.

Note final answer corrections:
#1: y = tan x is also a function that is possible!
#3: y = 94.9
 
59 Wed Nov 28 Review Day 2      
60 Thurs Nov 29 Unit Test 6